Thankitude!

Nothing makes you appreciate a hot shower like a cold shower! I re-learned this the other day when I was a little behind in the family line and the hot water heater wasn’t up to it! I got the job done, but it was a quick one. Moms know that shower time is sometimes your only time alone in a day, so it’s pretty valuable.

It got me thinking though. I have a lot to be grateful for. Every day I do things that millions of people don’t get to do; like eat three meals. I was talking to my 7 year old son about electricity and how it affects us each day. “You mean we wouldn’t have any heat?” I went on to list all the things it allows. “I couldn’t cook, there would be no TV, no hot showers, no computer…” It was a good lesson for him, but it reminded me too about all the wonderful luxuries in my life that I forget to be thankful for sometimes; a very comfortable bed, clean water, plenty of clothes (I could go weeks without having to do laundry!), cars, my husband has a job.

Even more than these temporal things, there are precious gifts that I want to appreciate; a loving husband, dear children God has placed in my care, a very supportive family and group of friends. Sunsets, flowers, trees, mountains, oceans, and all the magnificent beauty of nature.

Most of us are either experiencing some difficulty in life or have friends who are. In the hard times it’s especially important to remember the good gifts we enjoy.

With God as our Father, there’s never reason to despair. If we have accepted His gift of eternal life through Jesus, there is always a rich peace available to us beyond our circumstances. We are never without hope!

What about you? How is your thankitude? We are here to encourage each other along the way. I need reminders now and then, and that cold shower got it started!

About betsyclark

Beloved daughter of God, wife, mother of four, homemaker, homeschooler, friend.
This entry was posted in hope.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankitude!

  1. Kevin Adams says:

    Thankitude!! love it betsy – good post! I like your style of writing hope to see more as you are able. Bless you and your family!

  2. betsyclark says:

    Kevin, thank you! Your blog has encouraged me so much in my walk. I appreciate it and look forward to reading more from you as well!

Leave a Reply

