The Clothesline

The Clothesline

Do you ever feel overwhelmed by the incredible amount of information your mind is given each day? The increase of information in the last 100 year is mind blowing!
Apparently, we only use less than 10% of our brains. I have a theory that much of what we don’t use is for the purpose of perception and intuition rather than all information storage.
Though we are constantly bombarded with information, our minds are less at ease. Rather than making us more confident, it can make us more confused and uncertain. We hardly have time to process what we do, hear, see, read, and say each day.
There are so few quiet moments where we can really contemplate and process the things we have heard.
What would your ideal processing time look like? One for me would be a walk in the woods. It is in quiet nature that I most easily connect with my Creator.
Also, I know it seems strange, but maybe it’s not so strange, because I was talking with a friend the other day and she longed for the same thing. While we both agreed it probably wouldn’t be looked upon favorably in the suburbs, we still wished for it; a clothesline. When I was growing up, we had a washing machine, but not a dryer. We hung all of our clothes on the clothesline, and took them down when they were dry. It’s a soothing, therapeutic activity. Work that doesn’t take your mind; so that, while your hands are busy, your mind can contemplate beauty and process the happenings of the day and the information it has been fed.
I wonder what price our minds and bodies and relationships pay for not having  many of these moments during the day.
Our dishwasher broke a year or so ago, and washing dishes by hand was also strangely therapeutic! I know I have that choice even when my dishwasher is working, but I am compelled to finish the work the quickest way possible, because there is so much more work to be done.
Maybe we should be more deliberate and feel less guilty about taking our time to do “mindless” work, so that we can give out minds quiet moments to heal and to breathe. After all, our Father says; “Be still, (desist, cease striving, let go [of your concern]) and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.” Psalm 46:10

Will you try to carve out some more of these moments along with me this year of 2011? I would love to hear how you want to do that, and memories of times you have done so, and enjoyed the peaceful reward.

About betsyclark

Beloved daughter of God, wife, mother of four, homemaker, homeschooler, friend.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Clothesline

  1. Rubye Thompson says:

    Betsy, enjoyed this blog. I too remember so fondly the clothesline, although sometimes my brother and I would tie the cats tails together and throw them across the clothesline and watch them fight, see what God has done in my life.

    It is, as you say that is sometimes so therapeutic and it is a time to reflect on the seemingly unimportant things.

    Just to reflect the difference in generations, Haley was visiting with us one day and the neighbor next door had clothes out on the clothesline on the porch and Haley asked me if they were “poor”. She thought that it was a symbol of being poor rather than a choice that the lady had to hang her clothes out to dry.

    Enjoyed your post and keep posting, you don’t do enough of it.

    Missed seeing you during Christmas.

Leave a Reply

